I’m having some motivation problems of late.  I can’t seem to summon the energy to do any more than is required of me (feed the kids? check.  make sure they at least look clean?  yeah.  shower, get dressed, feed myself.  mostly.  The dogs?  oh yeah, better feed them and get them out.)  I’m not sure what the cause of my current funk is, but it is definitely a full-on, no holds barred FUNK.  It’s a good day when I’ve managed to shower and look presentable by 3pm.   I have some theories as to why I have no desire to do anything but hop a plane to Tahiti, ALONE, but none of it matters.  I need to find a way to escape the funk, not my life.  Particularly since my kids have off school for the next week.  And there’s no wine in my house (though there is plenty of wHine).  Or money.

We did have a very nice Halloween week I must admit.  It was another one of those occasions that made me want to write a love letter to Beach Haven.   The kids’ school puts on a Halloween parade and party, and the whole thing was unbelievably 1950, Norman Rockwell sweet.  Well, except for the music pumping DJ and the requisite Chicken Dance.  But it was a lot of fun and the kids had a ball.  The King family once again made their presence known too:  Sophia took 1st place in the Kindergarten class for the costume contest (She was Little Bo Peep).  Granted the competition from her 6 classmates wasn’t exactly stiff, but still.  She got a real trophy and you can’t take that away from her.

Looking a little spent by this point in the par-tay. But how cute is she?

I won!

 Continuing our domination of the Beach Haven Halloween, we also took first place in the pumpkin decorating contest!  That was pretty exciting, as there was (what I thought) actual competition from the other participants.  There were some pretty neat pumpkins up there, but for whatever reason, our puking pumpkin was the favorite.  We won a gift certificate to a local bookstore–nice!

Our prize-winning puker.

Our prize-winning puker.

The evening was a smashing success.  In fact, it was the most fun I’d had since moving here.  It was so wonderful to be a part of something here that was community-based (as opposed to beach-tourist based).  For the first time, instead of feeling apart from the community, I felt like a part of the community.  I think we all did.  And it felt good. 

Marching down the boulevard

Marching down the boulevard

dancing the YMCA.

The always-good-for-bonding-with-the-townies moment: dancing the YMCA.

