Items of note for this day, December 21, 2008

  1. I am officially DONE.  D-O-N-E DONE Christmas shopping!  Mission completion today.  (You can’t see it, but I’m doing the happy dance.  In my jammies.)
  2. I have concluded that the chain of stores known as “Five Below” is without a doubt the greatest place in the world to do stocking stuffers and last minute kid gifts.  If you do not have a Five Below near you, immediately start a letter-writing campaign to the CEO and get yourself one.  It rocks.
  3. I am still feeling guilty about my failure as a Landlord.  Those people deserved better, even if they are assholes.
  4. It’s colder than a witch’s tit here.  But at least the sun came out today.  And I have a new, down-filled, cozier and warmer than a Krispy Kreme donut fresh out of the cooker, winter jacket.  Which is great, cause it’s colder than a witch’s tit.
  5. The Shoprite in Manahawkin is a freakin’ nightmare.  On the Sunday before Christmas, it’s a nightmare wrapped in a terror-filled blanket.  It’s elbows to elbows and every man/woman/child for themselves.  If you weren’t claustrophobic, agoraphobic or didn’t have a general distaste for mankind, you will after shopping here.  The folks who actually work there would deserve huge raises if they weren’t such cranky jerks themselves.
  6. Matt’s car is dead in the driveway.  This is not good.  This seriously puts a crimp in my Christmas cheer.  And probably my wallet too.  Good thing I didn’t buy the flat screen for Christmas.  But those Lexus-in-the-driveway-with-a-giant-bow-on-it commercials are making me salivate right about now.
  7. But I am done shopping, and that trumps all.  I am really looking forward to this week now (car repair bill notwithstanding) as I can focus on the smaller, truer pleasures of the holiday season:  visiting my family (for the first time in 9 years), GIVING the gifts, drinking hot chocolate with my kids while we watch Elf or A Christmas Story for the millionth time, just sitting back and staring at the tree, reveling in the quiet and reflecting on the real joys of this holiday that have nothing to do with what goes under that tree. 

I love Christmastime.

