It’s 10pm on the last day of 2008.  I suppose I could do the cliche thing and spend some time reflecting on the past year.  I’ve done a bit of that today, and I keep getting stuck on all the crappy stuff, the stuff that just reminds me that I should instead be looking forward, not back.  I also feel like it shouldn’t take a calendar to make me vow to improve my life or to spend some time in self-reflection.  It is coincidental however, that these past few weeks of great change in my life happened to be occurring at the end of one year and the beginning of another.  I can’t recall any previous year that I so looked forward to putting up the new calendar.  2009 is full of great promise and potential and I intend to fulfill more my own potential as well…

I don’t want to spend this last day of the year stewing in what has past.  In fact, today has been a perfect last day of the year.  I don’t need noisemakers (already got kids), or streamers or champagne.  (shoot, I had one beer and I was good to go.  The joys of being a total lightweight.)  I have here all I need to celebrate, because all that I celebrate is here–my husband,my children, my health, a roof over my head, and as a bonus, my best friend and her beautiful daughter.  It doesn’t matter to me that we’re all too tired to stay up til midnight.  (We celebrated the New Year,  London time–7 pm here–midnight in the UK– was greeted with joyous shouts of Happy New Year, spoken in sorry attempts at a British accent.)  Again, it’s not the party accoutrements that make for a joyous occasion worth celebrating.  I’m ending 2008 on a high note not because I am jumping around Times Square with a drink in my hand.  I have spent a beautiful day with all the people I love the most, and I can’t think of anything more worthy of a celebration or appreciation.

Happy New Year everyone.  May 2009 live up to its joyful promise for all of you.

Celebrating--if not with British class, at least it's British Time--it was midnight in the UK anyway.

Celebrating--if not with British class, at least it's British Time--it was midnight in the UK anyway.

Hasta La Vista 2008!

Hasta La Vista 2008!

