Wow.  Here we are, almost a year after that last, pathetic post.  I can’t believe that much time has passed already.  (Insert any cliche resembling “seems like just yesterday” here.)  I’ve thought about my Hello Kitty diary from time to time since then.  I’ve often yearned to sit down and commiserate with the internets, or at least bang out a few heartfelt words here and there, just to get them out.  I’m not sure what stopped me, other than laziness or inconvenience, or even, at times, crazy busy-ness.  There were mostly those times when I yearned to simply sit down.  Period.  So when I finally did get the opportunity to just sit on my ass and chill, I generally chose to use that time as a brain-drain instead of a brain exercise.  I couldn’t write when warming the couch was so much more fulfilling.  And fast forward 11 months.

In the meantime however,  I’ve actually been keeping a good, old-fashioned OFF line journal of sorts.  It feels refreshingly old school to sit in bed, with a pen and a real composition notebook and just scribble out my thoughts as they come to me.  There’s no thinking about “who may read this”, “what’s my audience” bullshit.  It’s just me and my uncensored emotions, as it was intended to be, before the internet came along and stole our souls.  Sometimes my hand can’t move as fast as my thoughts and it is tough to be coherent with my chosen words.  I don’t care though.  The only negative thing about that is the inevitable cramping in my wrist, from writing so furiously for such a long while.   But at least I don’t have to worry about someone else’s reaction to what I wrote.  (Unless of course I’ve been careless about where I leave my journal.  Which happened, once.  And it was UGLY.  More on that later.)

Which brings me back to the online journal I keep here, for reasons still unclear to me.  Tonight though, something compelled me to check in.  I was remembering that last post and thought, well, it’s about damn time I followed up on that sumbitch.  I mean gee, my audience of what? 4 or 5? may have been holding their breath since then, wondering what’s happened!!  Hardy har har.  Well, that and the fact that I’ve missed writing.  I’ve missed expressing myself to no one in particular, with a few possible particulars here and there.

So here we are. Almost a year later.  Sadly, my emotional and romantic status has remained unchanged since that last post.  Everything else however, is, well, “change” isn’t quite the right word.  We’re definitely not in the same place we were a year ago.  Yet, we somehow have found ourselves in exactly the same place we were approximately 4 years ago–at least geographically!  Yes, without great fanfare, I can announce the official (and holy shit it’s about friggin time) opening of our Diner.  We did it.  Just when we thought it would never happen, it finally did.  The details and emotional peculiarities of this development would constitute an entire epic novel, or at least the last few hundred pages of my offline journal.  So I will just say this:  it’s been a crazy road back.   We are finally back “home” in the place where we started, though this time, the Diner is not just sitting up on blocks of wood, waiting for a miracle (or a buyer).  It’s open for business.  And even though my personal life is a godforsaken mess, I am very proud of what we’ve managed to finally accomplish professionally.  The diner is a beauty.  Best of all, other people seem to love it too–enough to part with their own money over breakfast, lunch and/or dinner anyway.

We are back where we started things, all those years ago.  Yes, we are back to begin again.  It’s a very strange place to be–familiar, yet unchartered territory.  The places and people are all the same as I remember, but this is not the past I have jumped into…it’s the future.        Here we go.

 

